Farewells.

And it begins. The leaving taking before I set off on this new journey.

One of the harder elements of entering the convent is that I am not going to be able to drop by and see my friends and family whenever the whim takes me. I won’t be able to call them or drive over to see them. For a time, my only contact will be through letters sent to them and received from them (plus an occasional family visit day). So when I found out that I was accepted, I knew I had to spend some time with my family members to say goodbye.

That process began this week. I drove to see my mother’s family yesterday and am spending a few days with them. They don’t understand my decision but they have been trying. They have been asking lots of questions but I kind of like the questions – maybe they will hear something in my answer that will help them to grow in their faith. That is my prayer, anyway.

Soon, I will be saying goodbye to my Cleveland friends and family. That will be a hard one for me. These are the people I have been around for more then three years now – they are the ones who have helped me to grow closer to God and to finally open my heart to hear my vocation. God has offered me such a blessing with their presence and they will always be in my heart and in my prayers. I thank God for every moment I have had with them.

But it is hard to leave everyone. I just trust that God will care for them and that we are all on the journey that God has set out for us. I also trust that my prayers for them will be efficacious, helping all of us to grow closer to God.

And that gives me hope and strength. (God is so good!)

Peace!

Leave a Reply

