Of Homes and Tears

*** Important Note *** Please pray for one woman who was planning to enter with me next week.  She was in a serious car accident and suffered several broken bones.  We have heard that she is okay but she will not be able to enter with us because of the accident.  I ask that you pray for her healing and strength at this time.

One weird difficulty for me has been attached to being a military brat.  Ask any of us the simple question of “where are you from?” and you are bound to get an answer that has a caveat or two.  In my case, I can say that I have been living in the Cleveland area for the last three and a half years but I was mostly raised in Louisiana but that was only after I was living in several other places.  (When Sr. JA asked us to list where we are from, for their records or something, that was really a difficult question for me – where am I from?)

It also means that while I was living in Cleveland and have many friends there, I had to come back to Louisiana in order to say goodbye to my parents and some of the friends who have been there for more than half my life.

So I said goodbye to Cleveland last Wednesday, along with everyone there.  I am already missing them and was choking up for several of the farewell visits.

After all, the people there in Cleveland – they have been such blessings to me and without them, I am not sure I would have had the faith and the trust to open my heart to this vocation.  They have been friends and guides.  These are the people I have spent my time with for the last three years and it will be a very long time before I get to see some of them again.  I can only hope that I will be receiving many letters postmarked from Cleveland.

Now, I am in Louisiana, spending time with my best friend and my family and there will be more tears, I am sure.  I will miss so many people but I believe I am doing what God is calling me to do and I know that prayer is efficacious – helping to lift people closer to God.

And that is where my consolation is.

Leave a Reply

